2010-Present Lincoln Shield Cent Design


  • The Lincoln Shield Cent was issued following the four different designs issued for the 2009 Lincoln Cents to celebrate the Bicentennial of Lincoln’s birth. The same legislation which authorized the four rotating reverse designs also specified a fifth design to be issued in the following year, which would be emblematic of Lincoln’s preservation of the United States of America as a single and united country.

    Lincoln Shield Cent

    The design selected features the Union Shield, which dates back to the 1780’s and was used widely during the Civil War. The shield includes thirteen vertical stripes joined by an upper horizontal bar. This represents the thirteen original states joined together in a single compact union in support of the federal government. The design includes the inscriptions “United States of America”, “E Pluribus Unum”, and “One Cent”. It was designed by Lyndall Bass and engraved by Joseph Menna.

  • The obverse of the coin features the familiar bust of Abraham Lincoln. Details of the original Victor D. Brenner portrait were restored to more closely resemble the original 1909 Lincoln Cent.
  • The new Union Shield Cent will become a familiar one for the public, as this design is intended to be the permanent replacement for the long running Lincoln Memorial Cent design. The first Shield Cents began appearing in circulation in mid-January 2010. The United States Mint held a official launch ceremony for the new coins on February 11, 2010, one day before the 201st anniversary of Lincoln’s birth.


taken from:



Lincoln Union Shield Cent 2010-D UNC Satin Finish


Lincoln Union Shield Cent 2010-S Proof


Lincoln Union Shield Cent 2011-S Proof


Lincoln Union Shield Cent 2013-S Proof


Lincoln Union Shield Cent 2014-S Proof


Lincoln Union Shield Cent 2015 UNC


Lincoln Union Shield Cent 2015-D UNC


Lincoln Union Shield Cent 2015-S Proof